Saturday 02 Dec 2023
By /
main news image

KUALA LUMPUR (Aug 13): Of the 22 state seats that Perikatan Nasional (PN) won in Selangor in the 2023 state polls, half of them were won by a margin of less than 5%.

Four of them were secured with less than a 1% margin — the lowest being Taman Medan (0.07% or 30 votes), followed by Gombak Setia (0.09% or 58 votes), Sungai Kandis (0.28% or 167 votes) and Dengkil (0.59% or 407 votes).

Among the 11 narrowly-clinched seats, seven were won by Bersatu and four by PAS. Six of the seats were straight fights.

Selangor PN chairman Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali (PN-Bersatu), who obtained the Hulu Kelang seat, was also on a slim win. He attained a 1,617 majority or 3.26% winning margin over former Bukit Melawati assemblywoman Juwairiya Zulkifli (PH-PKR).

Comparably, five seats won by Pakatan Harapan (PH-four seats) and Barisan Nasional (one seat) were won with a winning margin of less than 9%. They were: Taman Templer (1.04% or 467 votes), Dusun Tua (5.62% or 3,014 votes), Batu Tiga (5.97% or 3,382 votes), Meru (6.65% or 3,422 votes) and Kota Damansara (8.83% or 5,694 votes). All of these five seats were three-cornered fights.

Of the PH seats, three were won by Amanah while one was by PKR.

Official results showed BN-Umno candidate Datuk Johan Abdul Aziz polled 26,755 votes to win the Dusun Tua seat, 3,014 votes more than PN's Azhar Hambali with 23,741 votes. The seat was a three-cornered fight with Muda’s Al Hafiz Ikhwan Mohamad Asaad, a newcomer to the polls who took 3,110 votes.

Edited ByTan Choe Choe
      Text Size