Wednesday 28 Feb 2024
main news image

KUALA LUMPUR (Sept 11): The National Energy Awards (NEA) returned for the fourth consecutive year in recognition of 29 local industry players who have achieved exception in the field of renewable energy and energy efficiency.

The 29 winners were announced today via a virtual event by the Ministry of Energy and Natural resources today. 

Eight organisations were selected as winners for Best Practices in Energy Management, six for Energy Efficient Buildings, and 11 for Best Renewable Energy Projects. 

In addition, three special awards were given for Best Practices in Energy Performance Contracting, Best Sustainable Practices by Institutions of Higher Learning, and Best Sustainable Financing. 

The winners of NEA 2021 will represent Malaysia at the ASEAN Energy Awards (AEA) 2021, Southeast Asia’s highest award for excellence in the field of energy. 

The recipients of AEA 2021 will be announced in mid-September 2021, in conjunction with the 39th ASEAN Ministers on Energy Meeting (AMEM).

In his address at the event today, Minister of Energy and Natural Resources Datuk Seri Takiyuddin Hassan said NEA was launched in 2018 as a strategic endeavour to recognise the achievements and best practices of local entities, in embracing sustainable energy initiatives as an effort to reduce the carbon footprints within the energy sector.

"NEA is instrumental in identifying the best energy efficiency (EE) practices and renewable energy (RE) initiatives by Malaysian establishments and organisations. The winners are selected after a thorough and vigorous evaluation process to ensure that only the best are selected as winners and to represent Malaysia at the ASEAN Energy Awards.

“Over the past three years, 69 organisations have represented Malaysia at the ASEAN Energy Awards and more than 40 of them have emerged as winners in different categories. These achievements augur well with our aspirations to be the leader of sustainable energy in ASEAN,” he added.

For more information on NEA 2021, please visit the official website:

Edited BySurin Murugiah
      Text Size