Wednesday 21 Feb 2024
main news image

KUALA LUMPUR (May 22): The Committee for Institutional Reforms has invited the public to alert the panel about institutions that have structural defects or have failed to function according to the law.

Individuals and groups have also been invited to write to the committee about institutions that have poor governance or ineffective decision-making processes or inadequate redressal mechanisms.

In a statement, the committee said today that the written representations should be submitted by May 28 to the Secretariat, Committee for Institutional Reforms, at Level 32, Ilham Tower, Jalan Binjai, 50450 Kuala Lumpur, with an email copy to [email protected].

“The committee requests that the repre­sentations should be for the purpose of institutional reforms and institutional issues and not about any personal grievances or individual misconduct of public officers.

“The committee will if necessary, invite these individuals and groups for face-to-face meetings,” the statement added.

The committee thanked individuals and stakeholders who had so far volunteered their assistance to it.

The committee, which was set up recently by the government’s Council of Eminent Persons, extended its appreciation to the many members of the public and stakeholders who volunteered their assistance. 

“Various individuals and groups were approached by our committee last week for their written representations to be submitted by May 23. Some have already done so and the committee has started studying their representations,” the committee said.

Some of these individuals and groups will be requested to attend closed door discussions with the committee, on the following scheduled dates: May 28, 29, 30 and June 1, 4, 8, 10, 12, 13, 18.

The committee includes retired Court of Appeal judge Datuk KC Vohrah, retired Court of Appeal judge and Human Rights Commission of Malaysia (Suhakam) commissioner Datuk Mah Weng Kwai, and National Patriot Association president Brigadier General (Rtd) Datuk Mohamed Arshad Raji. 

Also in the committee are Tunku Abdul Rahman professor of law at Universiti Malaya, Emeritus Prof Datuk Dr Shad Saleem Faruqi, and National Human Rights Society (Hakam) president Datuk Ambiga Sreenevasan.

      Text Size