Friday 14 Jun 2024
main news image

KUALA LUMPUR (July 1): The Enhanced Movement Control Order (EMCO) will be imposed in 34 mukims in Selangor and 14 localities in Kuala Lumpur for 14 days, starting this Saturday (July 3) to July 16.

Senior Minister (Security Cluster) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob, in a statement, said the 34 mukims involved in Selangor are in Petaling district (Mukim Petaling, Damansara, Sungai Buloh and Bukit Raja), Hulu Langat district (Mukim Hulu Langat, Ampang, Cheras, Kajang, Semenyih and Beranang), Sepang district (Mukim Dengkil, Labu and Sepang), and Gombak district (Mukim Batu, Rawang, Setapak, Hulu Kelang and Kuang).

Also involved are the Kuala Langat district (Mukim Tanjung 12 (1), Tanjung 12 (2), Teluk Panglima Garang, Morib, Bandar, Jugra and Batu), Klang district (Mukim Kapar and Klang), Kuala Selangor district (Mukim Ijok, Bestari Jaya and Jeram), and Hulu Selangor district (Mukim Serendah, Rasa, Ulu Yam and Batang Kali).

Meanwhile, in Kuala Lumpur, areas involved include the Sri Semarak People's Housing Project (PPR), Batu Muda PPR, Wangsa Maju Section 1 and Section 2 flats, Kampung Padang Balang, Taman Koperasi Polis (Phase 1 and 2), Sri Sabah flats, Kampung Puah and Kampung Baru Air Panas PPR.

Desa Pandan flats (including Baiduri and Delima), Kampung Batu Muda, Kerinchi PPR, Bandar Baru Sentul and Taman Ikan Emas are also involved.

Ismail Sabri said that with the implementation of the EMCO, all routes will be closed and controlled by the police, and residents will not be allowed to leave their homes except for a household representative to buy basic necessities within a radius of 10 kilometres.

He said the Ministry of Health (MoH) will also conduct targeted screening tests on all residents in the affected areas.

“The national immunisation programme coordinating committee also assured that the vaccination programme will be intensified in the affected areas,” he said.

According to him, interstate and interdistrict travel for the purpose of Covid-19 vaccination at vaccination centres (PPVs) outside the district or state of residence is allowed, by showing appointment details on the MySejahtera application, website or short messaging service (SMS).

He said airports and ports are allowed to operate as usual, while public transport activities and services (trains, commuters, buses, taxis, ferries and e-hailing) will operate at 50% capacity, with the number of individuals in taxis and e-hailing limited to two, including the driver.

Ismail Sabri said permission to travel to work is only for essential services or to carry out official government duties, with a confirmation letter from the employer or a valid employee pass, and no unnecessary movement outside the residential area after 8pm, except for emergency cases or with police permission.

“Employees who are not involved in essential services are not allowed to leave the EMCO area, and cannot travel to work during the EMCO period. Employers are required to comply with this order and allow employees to work from home.

“Only employees from essential services and factories and authorised business premises can use the previously issued MITI letter,” he said.

He said only the essential services sector will be allowed to operate from 8am to 8pm, such as utilities, cleaning and sewage.

He said the EMCO’s standard operating procedures (SOPs) also stipulated that only food factories and basic daily necessities such as rice, white bread, sugar, cooking oil, wheat flour, fresh milk, baby milk formula, medicines and face masks were allowed to operate.

Meanwhile, Ismail Sabri said that restaurants, food stalls, food trucks, roadside hawkers, grocery stores, convenience stores, daily necessities shops, pharmacies, animal clinics and pet food stores would be allowed to operate from 8am to 8pm.

Petrol stations are allowed to operate from 6 am to 8 pm, except for petrol stations on toll highways, which are allowed to operate 24 hours; wholesale markets can operate from 12 midnight to 6 am; public markets, permanent farmers’ markets (PTKs) and MyFarm Outlets from 6 am to 2 pm; hospitals, clinics and medical laboratories can operate 24 hours; while sports, social, recreational and cultural activities are not allowed.

In the statement, Ismail Sabri also announced that EMCO will be imposed at Latexx Manufacturing Sdn Bhd factory and Latexx Village workers’ hostel, Taiping; Latexx factory workers’ hostel 3, Jalan IKA Industri Kamunting Aman, Kamunting in Perak; Mukim Kuala Kuantan 1, Kuantan, Pahang and Taman Mewah, Kelemak, Alor Gajah, Melaka, for the same period, following an increase in Covid-19 cases in these localities.

Apart from that, also subject to EMCO are several localities in Sabah, namely, Kampung Mangga, Nasip Kita and Kampung Kijang in Balung, Tawau; Taman Jaya Diri, Kota Kinabalu; Kampung Lingkodon, Kota Belud; Kampung Pintas Kubu, Beaufort; Kampung Muhibbah, Putatan and Kampung Goshen, Kota Marudu.

Meanwhile, EMCO in nine longhouses in Sungai Rassau, Batang Igan, Mukah, Sarawak and at the foreign workers’ hostel and Wah Cens Plastic Industries & Rainbow Metal Sdn Bhd factory area, Buloh Kasap, Segamat, Johor, has been extended from July 3 to 16.

EMCO in Taman Sri Purnama, Mukim Padang Pak Amat, Pasir Puteh, Kelantan will end earlier than scheduled at 11.59pm on July 2.

Ismail Sabri said that a total of 549 individuals were arrested for violating the SOPs yesterday, with 535 individuals compounded and 14 remanded.

      Text Size