Thursday 22 Feb 2024
main news image

KUALA LUMPUR (Jan 7): The government has introduced Keluarga Malaysia’s automotive discount vouchers up to RM1,000 to flood victims for repair or replacement of private passenger vehicles including motorcycles, pickup trucks and vans, according to Finance Minister, Tengku Datuk Seri Zafrul Tengku Abd Aziz.

In a statement on Friday, Zafrul said to date, nearly 20 automotive companies with a network of more than 1,000 registered service centers across the country have agreed to join the initiative.

“This initiative is a joint venture between the Government and automotive companies where the company will offer a discount of at least 25% for repair work as well as the cost of towing vehicles for free and the Government will provide discount vouchers up to RM1,000.

“In this regard, the Government welcomes the move by PERODUA and PROTON to offer a 50% discount on the cost of spare parts. PERODUA has also offered repair work wages for free.

“The government is encouraging other automotive companies to also offer better incentives for their customers,” the finance minister said.

Zafrul added that the affected vehicle owners are not required to submit applications for the discount vouchers and highlighted they can redeem the vouchers at the service centres or authorized distributors for the automotive company involved.

He also said that the deadline to claim the vouchers is March 31, 2022.

“With this Keluarga Malaysia’s Automotive Discount Voucher initiative, the Government is committed in ensuring holistic assistance to Malaysian Families especially those affected by the flood disaster so that they can go back to life as usual as soon as possible,” Zafrul said.

List of automotive companies

  • Perusahaan Otomobil Kedua Sdn Bhd (PERODUA)
  • Perusahaan Otomobil Nasional Sdn Bhd (PROTON)
  • Tan Chong & Sons Motor (Nissan)
  • UMW Toyota Motor
  • Honda Malaysia
  • Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia (MMM)
  • Volvo car Malaysia
  • TC Euro Cars (Renault)
  • Mercedes-Benz Malaysia
  • BMW Malaysia
  • Sime Darby Motor Group (for Ford, Hyundai and others)
  • Mazda, Peugeot and KIA
  • TC Subaru
  • Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM)
  • Hong Leong Yamaha Motor Sdn Bhd
  • Boon Siew Honda Sdn Bhd
  • Motosikal Dan Enjin Nasional Sdn Bhd (MODENAS)
  • Mofaz Motorsikal Sdn Bhd
  • KMSB Motors Sdn Bhd (Suzuki)
Edited ByLam Jian Wyn
      Text Size